top of page
Search

Interviews - Zoe Ingold

Hi again all you Steminists! We are back at it again with another #WomenInSTEM interview! You guys are showing Cellfie so much support and we are so grateful as you are motivating us to get writing! Today we have done an interview with Zoe Ingold who is a 1st year PhD student at York Structural Biology Lab (YSBL) and the Centre for Novel Agricultural Products (CNAP) working on C-C bond forming enzymes derived from plants. You can find Zoe's BBSRC profile for more info (https://www.whiterose-mechanisticbiology- dtp.ac.uk/phdproject/engineering-carbon-carbon-bond-forming-enzymes-from-plants-for- applications-in-industrial-biotechnology/). Zoe can also be found on Twitter @IngoldZoe.


When did you first realize you wanted to do STEM?

Zoe: When I was younger I always wanted to do a STEM related job, either as an astronaut or a vet but it was only when I started doing my GCSEs I decided I wanted to go into research. I held onto the idea of doing astrophysics for a while but I finally settled on chemistry when I realised it fitted more of my interests.


Cellfie: Chemistry is so amazing because of the variety of things it encompasses! Research sounds very exciting and one of our founders is an aspiring astrophysicist!

Who were your role models growing up?

Zoe: I read a lot as a kid so many of my role models were fictional characters! I really admired Hermione and Ginny in the Harry Potter series because they were very self confident and intelligent young women. My A-level chemistry teachers were also great role models, introducing me to many other women in STEM, encouraging me to take up opportunities such as the chemistry olympiad and generally being great mentors. There are so many awesome people out there and with social media it’s much easier to learn about them. I’d recommend @scientist_rhi, @someblondescientist and @thebumblingbiochemist instagram accounts as a good place to start!


Cellfie: We definitely agree with you there, sometimes book characters can feel like best friends! Teachers are so inspiring, a lot of the time they are the ones that spark your passion in a subject!

Did you ever want to do anything else?

Zoe: I’ve worked with horses since I was very young and I did briefly do this as a full time job before going to uni but it’s not something I’d want to do again. I enjoyed the physical demands of it but I need the intellectual stimulation of a more academic environment.


Cellfie: One of our founders LOVES horses and horseriding! It is such an amazing hobby to have as you develop such a close bond with your horse. It's almost more like a friendship!

Have you ever had any setbacks or been told you are a girl so cannot do tech?

I’ve been told to lower my expectations before about which uni I wanted to go to or the doctorate programme I could get onto but it’s never been explicitly tied to the fact I’m female. This sort of thing is hard to hear and it definitely takes a degree of self confidence to ignore. I would recommend ignoring anyone who says you can’t do it, of course you can and you’re going to prove them wrong!


Cellfie: Exactly! Go get them! No one should ever have to lower their expectations- aim high and look to achieve high!

What’s one thing you’d like to change about the STEM community?

Zoe: The belief that work should be your life. Although it’s getting better there’s still an unhealthy obsession with working long hours and making science your whole life. It’s so important to have a healthy work-life balance with varied hobbies and to learn to say no to prevent yourself being overstretched and experiencing burn-out.


Cellfie: We totally agree. No one should feel they have to "live up to expectations" and work an unhealthy amount. Just because you are a scientist, it doesn't mean you can't enjoy relaxing and doing things you love in your spare time!

Is there a problem with sexism in the STEM community?


Zoe: Absolutely. Systematic discrimination against women is rife in STEM. Long hours are normal, making it difficult for women to fulfil caring requirements that are traditionally thought of as their responsibility. They’re also expected to do more of the unpaid work, such as mentoring and being on committee panels whilst at work. All of that cuts into research time and can lead to their projects being seen as less valuable. I would definitely recommend reading Invisible Women by Caroline Criado for more information on the subject! Personally, all the people I have worked with are amazing and fully support women in STEM so I’m hopeful that the systems will change over my career.


Cellfie: We have heard so many good things about that book! Apparently, most drug trials are carried out on men so don't even take into account the female body and hormonal differences!

What’s your message for young girls wanting to do STEM?

Zoe: Do it. The future depends upon people being educated in STEM. Problems such as pandemics, climate change, food supply etc all depend upon STEM people to find technical solutions. You have to be the change you want to see.


Cellfie: Agreed! Get out there and do yourself proud!

What is your favourite science joke?

Zoe: What do you call an acid with an attitude? A-mean-oh acid!


Cellfie: That is @ScienceSoph's favourite joke! A bit overused by her and the rest of the founders get fed up! :)

What is your most embarrassing moment in your life?

Zoe: Falling off a horse 3 times in under 10 min going over the same jump with a new instructor. Poor woman moved to a new stable not long after!


Cellfie: That sounds full on painful- not just embarrassing!

What is your favourite food?

Zoe: Bibimbap with fried tofu and tenderstem broccoli...or mac and cheese...or coconut daal. I love food, this is an impossible question!


Cellfie: Food is our favourite thing! We love macaroni cheese but have never actually tried tofu! Must do it soon!

What is your favourite shop? Zoe: We have a small independent plant shop in York called Botanic. I love that place and have filled my flat up with plants from there. The staff are fantastic, always helping with any plant issues and they have an adorable doggo.


Cellfie: We love anyone or anywhere with a dog! That shop sounds great!

Well once again thank you so much to Zoe for agreeing to do an interview with us! We have loved reading your answers and I'm sure the Cellfie family will love reading it too! Get in touch with us on our Twitter, TikTok and Instagram all @cellfiemagazine. Leave a like and a comment and share this post. Stay safe everyone and see you next time!


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page