top of page
Search

Interviews - Karen Tang




Welcome back everyone! Thank you so much for all of your support- we are truly loving getting to know more #WomenInSTEM through interviewing them. Today, we have had the amazing opportunity to interview Karen Tang whi us currently doing her PhD in Canada ready to become a scientist and psychologist. You can find Karen on Twitter @KarenTang_. Thank you Karen for getting involved and we're sure our readers will love your answers!


 

Cellfie: What is your job?


Karen: I’m a PhD Student in Clinical Psychology at Dalhousie University

(Halifax, Canada), training to be a scientist and psychologist. My

research primarily examines behavioral addictions (video

gaming, gambling) and substance use (vaping) and their

association with mental health correlates (e.g., depression,

anxiety).


Cellfie: That sounds so interesting! Psychology is such a relevant area to our daily lives and we would love to write some more blog posts related to it!


When did you first realize you wanted to do STEM?


Karen: As a preschooler, I wanted to be a zoologist as I absolutely

loved animals. Then in high school, I took one psychology

elective course and I was hooked. Who knew we could actually

study human behavior and all the nuances it entailed? Next, my

interest in addiction was solidified while working on my

Undergraduate Honors Thesis on gaming disorder (e.g., video

game addiction), an emerging new condition that continues to

intrigue me.


Cellfie: Wow! Psychology is a subject which has fascinated generations for thousands of years and we think that it is gripping teenagers through its recent exposure in Netflix documentaries such as "The Ted Bundy Tapes". It is incredible how we can stufy our own behaviors and learn about our mental state from it.


Who were your role models growing up?


Karen: As an aspiring psychologist, I look up to my aunt, who is a

registered social worker, experienced counsellor, and currently

the Centre Director of a missionary and social service centre.

Her immense dedication to her work inspired me to pursue the

helping professions. I admire the work she does helping others

and I hope to be able to have the same indelible impact on

others one day.


Cellfie: Your auntie sounds like such an inspiring woman! We definitely agree that sometimes family members or friends can massively impact your career decisions through setting such a wonderful example through their passion and dedication.


Did you ever want to do anything else?


Karen: Oh my gosh I wanted to follow in the footsteps of another aunt

and be a nurse. But then I passed out while my sister was

getting her flu shot and I was waiting idly by. Yes, the needle

wasn’t even meant for me and I fainted. I had to face the harsh

reality that blood and needles wasn’t for me and that nursing

probably wasn’t the best profession for someone who has a

phobia. And that’s when I jumped on the zoology train! As you

can see, I’ve considered many career choices and that’s

perfectly fine! Always be open to new opportunities. You never

know what might come your way that might ignite a passion

you never knew you had.


Cellfie: It is so important to consider many different career options, you have to find something you are truly passionate about and want to devote your life to! One of our founders wants to be a doctor and is weirdly not bothered by needles or blood!


Have you ever had any setbacks or been

told you are a girl so cannot do STEM?


Karen: I’m lucky as I am surrounded by strong female role models in

my life, especially my aunts. My parents always actively

encouraged me to pursue whatever career I set my heart to.

Additionally, I have had wonderful mentors in undergrad and

graduate school who believed in me and have guided me

throughout my journey. I’m incredibly lucky to have a

community of supporters and I recognize that isn’t the case for

everyone. I encourage young girls to seek out mentors that can

support and help you.


Cellfie: That's so lovely to hear, it is amazing that you had such a good support network to inspire you!


What’s one thing you’d like to change

about the STEM community?


Karen: A greater emphasis on mental health and well-being in the

community! Too often, we treat research publications and

productivity to be our only measure of success. We must

remind ourselves that we are not productivity machines. We

are human beings; as such, we are loved who for we inherently

are, not what or how much we produce. It’s time to be kind to

ourselves.


Cellfie: Definitely! Everyone has to sit back from time to time and take care of themselves!


Is there a problem with sexism in the

STEM community?


Karen: I’m going to let this infographic speak for itself. I know we can

do better. Together, we can change the dialogue in STEM. Lets

do this!




Cellfie: That is really sad, especially since it is so true. We need to inspire girls to continue with their careers and aspiration and not feel they have to just stop after their degree.


What’s your message for young girls

wanting to do STEM?


Karen: Pursue your passion. Be it calculating mathematical

computations, working in a lab with petri dishes, or studying

engineering. You will make mistakes along the way, but it is

these, not your successes, that will define you. Give it a try. I

dare you.


Cellfie: We will definitely accept the dare! This is such good advice and everyone should just pursue their dreams and what they are passionate about.


What is your favourite science joke?


Karen: How many psychologists does it take to change a lightbulb?

Just one, as long as the light bulb *wants* to change.


Cellfie: We love this!


What is your most embarrassing

moment in your life?


Karen: Does fainting on a plane count? I was on my way to a graduate

school interview when I passed out on my overnight flight due

to low blood sugar. I hit my head so hard the pilots in the

cockpit heard. They had to call for a doctor on board and

everything. I thought they were going to turn the plane around!

Was mildly concussed during the interviews but hey, I got

accepted in the end! Moral of the story: fainting is not a fun

experience. Also, pro tip: DO NOT stand up if you feel

faint/dizzy.


Cellfie: One of our founders is a fainter! That is very good advice unless you are such a pro that you manage to faint from sitting (which she has done!)


What is your favourite food?


Karen: Anything. I will eat anything to ensure I never faint again on a

plane due to low blood sugar (see embarrassing story above).

I also enjoy bubble tea, chai lattes, and ice cream!


Cellfie: Bubble teas and ice cream are just fabulous! We have to say we've never actually tried a chai latte but definitely on our bucket lists!


What is your favourite shop?


Karen: I’m like Belle in a bookstore! I love, love, love books! If you ever

want to find me, I’ll have my nose buried in a book at the local

bookstore.


Cellfie: It's so funny that many people would consider STEM professionals not "into reading" or not "Englishy" yet nearly everyone we have interviewed has said their favourite shop is a bookstore!


Thank you so much for reading and we hope you loved it! Once again, thank you to Karen and you can find her at the links below. Make sure to get active on our social media, @cellfiemagazine on Twitter, Instagram and TikTok. See you all next time! :)





38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page