top of page
Search

Interviews - Hiral Thaker


What is your job?


Hello, there. Firstly, I am very excited to be part of this initiative by you guys and happy to be here and contribute to the community.

I am Hiral Amar Thaker from Ahmedabad, India. I am working as a Jr. Content Writer in a well-renowned company in Ahmedabad named Biztech IT Consultancy. Apart from this, I love to do volunteer work and be helpful to people. This led me to be a volunteer of Art of Living and organize courses. Additionally, I am also an IamRemarkable facilitator, an initiative by Google for empowering women and under-represented groups of society to talk about their achievements in the workplace and beyond. Let’s not forget, I am also volunteering in Women Techmakers Ahmedabad as a Content Writer.



When did you first realize you wanted to do STEM?


I was introduced to technology in 10th grade. I still remember sitting in front of the computer in the lab and gazing at the blue screen. I still remember like every other developer my first program was “Hello World.” The thing that surprised me was when the output came on the black screen as I was learning C programming. I was amazed. I immediately wanted to know how this happened. What is this and this inquisitiveness to know about computers made me realize I want to pursue Tech as my career.



Who were your role models growing up?


My Mom! She has always been my inspiration in doing, being and aiming big things in life. She has always been a career-oriented woman and striving to grow and learn. She made me and my brother career-oriented, help people around us and grow together.



Did you ever want to do anything else?


No ways, not even in my dreams :) I love what I am doing, I love writing tech-related things and make understanding technology easy for everyone.

My aim is to make "Technology an Equalizer" with the help of my writings :) and make technology reach to maximum people and make their lives productive and easy.



Have you ever had any setbacks or been told you are a girl so cannot do tech?


No, I have never faced any such situation till date. In fact, I have met amazing people in the community, family and friends who have always supported me and motivated me to put my best foot forward.


Talking about setbacks, of course I have faced them. I have been rejected by many companies in my locality but that never stopped me taking risks and moving ahead. For me, these rejections have worked as a blessing in a disguise and made me stronger and humble person.



What’s one thing you’d like to change about the STEM community?


In many of the STEM communities, I have seen fewer women are participating or many of them not knowing about communities. So, I would want more women to be part of the STEM community and come out, speak about their achievements and learn and grow together.



Is there a problem with sexism in the STEM community?


I personally have never faced any sexist issue in the community. As I said above till date I have met amazing people who have helped me grow a lot and achieve new skills.



What’s your message for young girls wanting to do STEM?


“Don’t stop for anything less”. If you are truly passionate about STEM fields and want to pursue that as a career just do it. there will be times when you will face setbacks but keeping going. And always remember we grow by lifting others. So, never stop helping people around you.

Remember: Intention. Attention. Manifestation.



What is your favourite food?


Waffles! It has to be them. I would say they are my guilty pleasure. In fact, often on accomplishing difficult tasks, I treat myself with waffles.



What is your favourite shop?


Crossword! I love being surrounded by books, in fact getting lost in it. It’s my go-to place. I enjoy reading and it creates a completely different space and world for me. not only this but it even helps me in my profession by writing more effectively.


Thank you so much for taking part! It was so fascinating to read about your experiences and your views on certain topics within the community! Thank you also to our readers and be sure to check out our other interviews!



449 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page