top of page
Search

Interviews - Carol Roullard

Hi STEMinists! What a couple of months it has been! Sorry for being so inactive lately, we have struggled to balance Cellfie with the demands of being back and working full time. The team are currently working out a robust schedule which will allow us to regularly post blogs and interviews. We are also trying to get our podcast back up and running, which we received a large amount of support for on our first couple of episodes. Today, we bring you an interview with Carol Roullard who encourporates STEM and art into her work! Thank you for taking part, Carol!




What is your job?


My current job is “Artist". I should clarify this. In school I wanted to be in the sciences, work in a lab, run experiments, discover new things, investigate what is and isn’t. (Yikes that still sounds wonderful.) But when I was growing up that career didn’t pay well, especially for women. And to be honest, biochemistry was not easy for me in college. Math and computer science was, plus there were many more job opportunities. So I went that career route. I still love science. I also love art.

Ten years ago, I saw a way for me to merge the two. I saw a slide show presentation of photographs of chemical crystals through the microscope. I fell in love with that incredible hidden world. The beauty, imagination, discovery, everything I love to experience, all rolled into one fantastic opportunity. Photomicrography has opened up new avenues for me to explore.

I also expanded my art to include fluid acrylics. Although this art medium is not science based, for me it has many of the same discovery and imagination qualities I love in growing crystals.



When did you first realize you wanted to do STEM?


6th grade when my teacher was talking about Mendel’s pea experiment. It was the coolest thing! I remember exactly where I was sitting in the classroom when I decided. Much better than space which I also liked. I decided without any reservation I wanted to be a plant geneticist.



Who were your role models growing up?


As I move through life, I always looked for role models. I need them. Their stories and success helps guide me, gives me energy and strength, they inspire me to try to succeed. Early on they were my family. In school, I found historical figures and then people in the news. Once the Internet came around (Yep, I remember when there wasn’t any) it became easy to hear of peoples’ inspirational stories. Right now I’m expanding my art and building a new website. I have two successful artist friends who have become my role models. They have accomplished things that I dream about. Their stories, successes and energy have become a motivation for me to reach my goals.



Did you ever want to do anything else?


Yes. Be a singer but, for one very obvious reason, it wasn’t going to be.



Have you ever had any setbacks or been told you are a girl so cannot do tech?


Not in tech but I remember several times being told girls don’t do that or that’s only for girls in both school and business. I don’t know if it stopped in the late 1970’s, early 80’s or I just chose not to see it. The few times I faced it, I used it as a “why not” point and either moved past it or argued for what I wanted. Evidently, I’m not very good at staying in my place.



What’s one thing you’d like to change about the STEM community?


I’m on the STEM community fringes looking in. I see a lot of outreach programs but I would like to see more science education pushed in our elementary through high school curriculum.



Is there a problem with sexism in the STEM community?


I can’t speak to this currently. When I was growing up in the 1970’s very much. The field didn’t pay much and women were not given the leading rolls and opportunities. I ended up going into a different field where women had more opportunities and more money.



What’s your message for young girls wanting to do STEM?


Dream, image, experiment and find like friends and role models. You want it, just do it! Why not!



What is your favourite science joke?


Don’t have one. I enjoy jokes but I’m terrible at remembering them correctly. It’s a family trait. We are good listeners and understand them but could not tell you a joke correctly if lives depended on it.



What is your most embarrassing moment in your life?


Good Lord. I’m not telling!



What is your favourite food?


Popcorn and chocolate but not together.



What is your favourite shop?


Great question. I gave this some thought because it turns out I like ANY place where they have items that get me dreaming about owning them. I love hardware stores, art stores, crowded antique stores. Places where there are interesting sometimes beautiful things to look at and think about.




Thank you so much, Carol! Your answers gave us a great insight into your work and how you should not confine yourself to either being a "sciency" or "artistic" person when you can combine them and follow a career you truly love. So inspiring! Once again, make sure to check out our Instagram and Twitter pages, both on @cellfiemagazine.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page