top of page
Search

Interviews - Carla Usai


What is your job?


I am a postdoc at the Blizard Institute, Queen Mary University of London. I study how the immune system reacts to hepatitis delta virus (HDV) infection.

I am also the author of a science communication blog (virusandco.art.blog) where I write about viruses, immunology, and biotech.

I have recently joined the WISE QMUL Committee (Women in Science and Engineering) to help to promote the presence of women in STEM.



When did you first realise you wanted to do STEM?


It was during high school. I was one of those hardworking students that have good grades in all the subjects. I enjoyed studying, and even though I had some less favourite subjects, I was not able to identify something that really excited me. But when I started studying Chemistry and Physics, I realized that those where the things that I really enjoy studying: I was attracted by the infinitely small and the microscopic world! I was interested in the biology of the cell, the DNA was fascinating and trendy with the Human Genome Project just declared completed in 2003. This is why in 2005 I decided to study Biotechnology at the University of Padova (Italy), and I am very happy with that decision!



Who were your role models growing up?


I was very lucky to have role models in my family: my mother has always supported and motivated me. She is a pharmacist, so it was very nice to be able to talk with her about my studies both during high school and university.

The other one is my Ph.D. supervisor, a very smart and successful woman, which is still to me a great example both as a scientist and as a person.



Did you ever want to do anything else?


Yes, I did. There was a time when I wanted to be an archaeologist, I think it a fascinating job! I also wanted to be a writer or a journalist: I’ve always loved writing and at the beginning of this year I finally decided to combine my two loves – science and writing - and to start my blog.



Have you ever had any setbacks or been told you are a girl so cannot do tech?


Never. As I mentioned before, I am not the only woman in STEM of my family: my mother is a pharmacist and my sister is a medical doctor, so I never thought that science and technology were precluded to girls. Moreover, so far I have had more female supervisors than male ones.



What’s one thing you’d like to change about the STEM community?


It is a very competitive environment, especially in academia. It is true that there is also space for collaborations, which is great, but sometimes we are too pushed to prove ourselves the best in the field. We should learn to be more “human” in some way.



Is there a problem with sexism in the STEM community?


Probably. I haven’t had any direct experience so far, but it is clear that things for women are more difficult. It is the old problem of combining career and family.

Actually, I think that our entire society is sexist itself in many ways. Things are improving, but there is still a lot of work to be done.


What’s your message for young girls wanting to do STEM?


Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do it. Be assertive and proactive, work hard, and don’t compare yourself to anyone: just do your best. If possible, look for role models and ask for help and advice.



What is your favourite science joke?


A couple of research scientists had twins. They named one John and the other Control.



What is your most embarrassing moment in your life?


Oh, I am quite clumsy… hard choice. Let’s go for a science-related one. It was my first oral presentation at an international congress. I am not a native English speaker and I was a bit nervous about being able to understand the questions from the audience. The first questions came from a Japanese scientist, and I did not understand a word, literally. I had to ask him to repeat his question twice, I was really embarrassed.



What is your favourite food?


Pizza, without the shadow of a doubt.



What is your favourite shop?


I love bookstores, I could spend hours leafing through books.



Thank you so much, Carla, for you for taking time away from your blog to contribute to ours! Your responses are really inspiring and it is fantastic to hear about all the strong female scientists in your family; it's really encouraging to hear about how much support you've had going into STEM and what you're giving back through your work with the WISE QMUL Committee.


@CarlaBioTech on Twitter


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page