top of page
Search

Interviews - Ariana DeCastro


What is your job?


I am a bioengineering graduate research fellow in A. James Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland College Park. I am working on a project focused on understanding how breast cancer spreads to specific organs such as the brain and the bone in the hopes of being able to identify novel therapeutic targets for future drug and treatment development.



When did you first realize you wanted to do STEM?


I first realized I wanted to pursue a career in STEM when I took an advanced biology

class in high school. My teacher shared an article with us about 3D printing and how it

could possibly be used to print new organs (this was all brand new research at the time).

I was amazed and wanted to be a part of this field.



Who were your role models growing up?


I looked up to my family – especially my grandparents, mother, and aunt. They are the

strongest and hardest working people I know. They sacrificed so much to take care of

me. I also looked up to my middle school math teacher, a woman who made sure I

believed in my intelligence, and my high school physics teacher, who taught me how

STEM could be fun!



Did you ever want to do anything else?


At one point I wanted to be a journalist and a writer. I also still have a secret dream of

being able to design video games. But I find ways to incorporate these joys into my

hobbies. I enjoy writing posts for my Instagram blog, make time to practice drawing

characters, and playing video games.



Have you ever had any setbacks or been told you are a girl so cannot do tech?


As a first-generation college student, I had many setbacks trying to figure out how to

succeed in college both as an undergrad and graduate student. I always felt like I had to

figure things out and learn lessons on my own. I appreciate that I had the strength and

resourcefulness to do that. But it would have helped to have someone who could mentor

me and guide me through a lot of the experiences of pursuing a higher education STEM

degree.


I have never been outwardly told I cannot succeed in the STEM field. But looking back I

can see a lot of subtle messaging that was meant to make me question pursuing this

field. I always got asked “why don’t you just become a nurse?” or “why do you need to

get a PhD?”. There has also always been this look of surprise whenever I shared that I

was a Bioengineer like people couldn’t believe it was possible that a woman of color

could succeed in such a field.



What’s one thing you’d like to change about the STEM community?


I would really like to change how accessible the STEM education system is for

underrepresented minorities. I think there’s an almost invisible barrier at every level in

STEM that makes it harder for us to succeed. Further, when we do breach that barrier

there are no resources and structures in place to support us.



Is there a problem with sexism in the STEM community?


I think in any workplace and community there is sexism. But it goes further than that -

there is an equity problem in STEM and academia. STEM and academia have been

designed based on western values and traditionally dominated by white males. Because

of this it makes it difficult for anyone who does not fit into these categories to feel

accepted and succeed.



What’s your message for young girls wanting to do STEM?


My message would be to believe in yourself and to advocate for your needs. There will

be plenty of times you will be questioning whether you are on the right path or whether

you are smart enough and always choose to believe that you are. Additionally, there will

be plenty of times where you will feel like you need to please others and sacrifice your

needs. Always put yourself first.



What is your favourite science joke?


I don’t have a favorite joke but I do have a favorite funny science video. Linked here.



What is the most embarrassing moment in your life?


I pretended to not know how to turn on a car as I was being questioned by my professor

in front of my class because I was afraid of giving the wrong answer.



What is your favourite food?


I love sushi – any form of it.



What is your favourite shop?


My favorite shop is TJ Maxx. You can find anything there!


We'd just like to say a huge thank for interviewing with us! It has been absolutely fascinating to read about your experiences and we certainly have to agree with you on the funny science video! Another thank you to our readers and once again stay tuned for even more interviews to come!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page