top of page
Search

Interviews - Amina Hamoud


Hi STEMinists! Welcome back to another interview, this time with Amina Hamound who works in transport as a research engineer. Her work is astounding and will likely play a vital part in the conversion over to autonomous vehicle systems. Thank you for taking part, Amina!




What is your job?


Research Engineer. I work on Autonomous Vehicles and

Intelligent Transport Systems.



When did you first realize you wanted to

do STEM?


From an early age due to my love of maths and physics at that

time. Not only out love but also because I was really good and

enjoying it.



Who were your role models growing up?


Chloe O’Brian. She is a character in the series 24h. She was my

inspiration. Even though she was just a character, She is the

one why I studied computer science.



Did you ever want to do anything else?


A pilot but failed the eye test.



Have you ever had any setbacks or been

told you are a girl so cannot do tech?


Of course, I failed in 2 first years of Uni by then everyone lost

faith in me including my parents yet I was adamant on proving

them wrong that I persevered and now reflecting on the

journey don’t regret any of it and not to sound narcissist I’m

pretty darn proud on how much I achieved and grew along the

line.



What’s one thing you’d like to change

about the STEM community?


Some STEM subjects have more females than others and I wish

there were more female in my field. We need to work together

more than ever, united, unified and stop that jealousy or

pretence among ourselves. Also, a lot are focusing on equality

and diversity for the wrong reasons. We need to rethink those

but also did you know that diversity doesn’t mean inclusion.

Inclusion is important too.



Is there a problem with sexism in the

STEM community?


There is sexism everywhere yet varies from different

institutions and their culture.



What’s your message for young girls

wanting to do STEM?


You have a dream, hold on to it and make

sure you work hard to get there. Hard work always, always pays

off. Just Be ambitious and Persevere.



What is your favourite science joke?


I don’t really joke so not sure. I’m no fun :P



What is your most embarrassing

moment in your life?


I had to make a demo for potential sponsors who were

interested in funding our work. I had everything running prior

to arrival once they got there and was ready to show my

software everything stopped working. So no demo probably

thought was lying… So embarrassing as my PI was relying on

me... Most frustrating it all worked afterwards…



What is your favourite food?


Maffe. It is a West African Nut based Stew.



What is your favourite shop?


Waterstones hands down.


Wow, thank you! We have been blown away at your incredible skill and talent! Your experiences have been fascinating to read about and will inspire many others just like it has inspired us! We wish you all the best in the future and cannot wait to hear more from you! Make sure to check out our Instagram and Twitter pages, both @cellfiemagazine, where you can keep up to date with all of our projects! Hope you are all keeping safe and well, The Cellfie Team :)


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page