top of page
Search

Amazing Women in STEM Interviews- Fernanda Krupek



Hi there all you STEMinists! We hope you are all well and looking after yourselves during these trying times. The team at Cellfie have been working hard to balance the blog with other pressing commitments and are excited to roll out more posts for you guys! Today, we are honoured to be sharing our interview with Fernanda Krupek who is a PhD student focusing on improving soil health and ecosystem services! Thank you again, Fernanda, for your insightful answers! We hope you enjoy...


 

What is your job?

I am a second-year PhD student in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. My research project focuses on alternative agricultural management practices to improve soil health and ecosystem services.


When did you first realize you wanted to do STEM?

My idea of career in STEM advocating for women visibility has progressed into a more well-defined plan throughout my undergraduate and graduate career. A pivotal undergraduate opportunity that unequivocally confirmed my passion for agricultural education was to serve as a mentor and tutor to nontraditional-age college students, primarily women over the age of 30, who were economically disadvantaged and have not earlier attained high education. As a master student, I have had the opportunity to strengthen my leadership and communication skills by being the Social Chair of the Horticultural Sciences Student Club. The group, comprised primarily of women from different areas of agriculture, provides hands-on experiences on sustainable agricultural practices and explores and promotes academic and career resources to help students gain managerial and out of syllabus experiences. The effective teaching strategies I have acquired from being teaching assistant of undergraduate- and graduate-level courses will also aid in my success as women in academia.


As an international student in the US, I have prioritized a deep and lasting commitment to my local community. I have been member of the Christian Church College Student Ministry, a volunteer-based program conducted to assist international students with language-related communication constraints and support families with socioeconomic hardships. Being a judge for Public School’s Science Fair was my opportunity to make an impact on the lives of some very talented young girls, act as an ambassador for my profession, and be a positive influence on student’s career choice. My involvement in discussions and network events promoted by the University of Florida Women in Science and Engineering has solidified my goal in advocating for increased women visibility in agricultural sciences. I have been delighted to participate in inclusive forums geared to fostering the success of women and other underrepresented students in STEM fields.


Who were your role models growing up?

Coming from a country (Brazil) where high education isn’t affordable and accessible to all, I have been driven by my strong belief that no child should be denied the transformative power of education. My mother, coming from a family of 12 with surplus of socioeconomic hardships, had her higher education attainment hindered by financial constraints. Her professional career and aspirations were sacrificed by lack of education, which inspired me and my sister to push the boundaries of knowledge. My father’s passion for promoting education and his impact on the lives of young people, as an elementary school teacher, was also a pivotal influence on my career.


Did you ever want to do anything else?

As most of kids, I wanted to be a vet because of my passion for dogs. It didn’t take me longer to realize that vet also deal with other small animals.

Have you ever had any setbacks or been told you are a girl so cannot do tech?

Thankfully not! Not only did I find in my family a genuine interest in my learning, which emphasized the importance of education, but my concept of the role of education in overcoming barriers for women had matured as well. The opportunity of attending college, as the second in my family to pursue a high education, represented a breakpoint in my career and role as woman in Agricultural Sciences. I have had mentors who paved the way of education by actively sponsoring me to deeply engage in research. I began to see STEM as a way to make meaningful changes in work-diversity and equity.


What’s one thing you’d like to change about the STEM community?

The increased representation of women in agricultural science still faces challenges to career advancement. In academia for example, women aren’t well represented at the highest ranks. This is one thing I would like to change! My goal in pursuing career in research stems from internal motivation to be at the forefront of scientific knowledge and advocate for enhanced retention, representation, and recognition of women, people of color, and minorities in Agricultural Sciences.


Is there a problem with sexism in the STEM community?

I believe so, not only in STEM community but in our society in general. Even though I haven’t had any direct experience so far, it is clear women still face challenges to career advancement.


What’s your message for young girls wanting to do STEM?

Work hard to achieve your dreams. Don’t let anyone say you can’t do and remember: “If you don’t try, you forfeit the opportunity”.


What is your favourite science joke?

This is an agricultural sciences –related joke: if you wear cowboy clothes, are you ranch dressing?


What is your most embarrassing moment in your life?

Let’s go for a non science-related one. It was my first time in the US ordering food in a restaurant. I am not a native English speaker and I was a bit nervous about being able to understand the waitress and be understood. My choice was “CHICKEN and ribs”, but the words the came out was “KITCHEN and ribs”. I was really embarrassed.


What is your favourite food?

My mom’s food, without the shadow of a doubt.


What is your favourite shop?

Airplane tickets. Time and money permitting, I love to travel and discover new places!


 

Thank you so much, Fernanda, for taking the time to complete our interview. It was fascinating to hear about your upbringing but also your invaluable work towards battling socioeconomic inequalities. We loved hearing about your passion for travel and I'm sure many can relate to your fondness of your mother's food! :)


Make sure to check out Fernanda's Twitter account (@FernandaKrupek) and read more into her work. As always, make sure to also take a look at our social media (@cellfiemagazine on Twitter, Instagram and Youtube) to keep up to date with our work! Best wishes to all of our loyal followers and we hope you stay safe!

195 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page